Nas

Nas – Illmatic (1994)

Olu Dara took this classic pic upon returning from an overseas tour. Papa was a playa.

Nas on the picture, and being seven:

“That was the year I started to acknowledge everything [around me]. That’s the year everything set off. That’s the year I started seeing the future for myself and doing what was right. The ghetto makes you think. The world is ours. I used to think I couldn’t leave my projects. I used to think if I left, if anything happened to me, I thought it would be no justice or I would be just a dead slave or something. The projects used to be my world until I educated myself to see there’s more out there.”

One Response to “Nas”

  1. Great blog man, added you to my blogroll.

Leave a Reply

